THE ARTIST

 

Originally from northern Quebec, I was born in 1984. I grew up surrounded by the great Canadian woods and majestic wildlife. Since my earliest childhood, nature has been omnipresent in my life. It has become, over time, an essential element for my well-being and my balance.

During my secondary studies, I chose to follow the "Plastic Arts" option. As a teenager, I remain deeply marked by this first encounter with art. At only 15 years old, my teacher diligently teaches us drawing and pushes us to go beyond the limits of our own creativity. A real favorite for the discipline, drawing has naturally become part of my daily life. It becomes my escape from a society in which I do not recognize myself. My limitless imagination allows me to escape into fictional worlds -often made of black and white- and to give life to tolerant characters, which I find nowhere else. So I draw for fun and to distract myself without even thinking about this precise moment that I will be able to make it my profession.

Despite everything, I have always been attracted by professions related to creation and artistic craftsmanship. I therefore spontaneously head towards artistic fields.

In 2003, I went to take jewelry courses at the School of Jewelry in Montreal and I trained in parallel with blown glass. Three years later, I began studying psychology at university. At that time, I put the Human at the center of my concerns and I tried to understand what was at stake in each of us.

 

In 2008, an accident in Mexico forced me to stop everything. I find myself forced to slow down and take care of my health for four months. I resume, not without chance, the path that is intended for me: art. For the first time, painting comes to me and takes on an increasingly significant place.

Encouraged and supported by my parents and loved ones, I made the choice to take a new turn and officially become an artist. Everything is swirling around in my head. A second life is offered to me and everything is to be built. However, I very quickly knew how to give a deep meaning to my practice.

I choose to call myself “MDauteuil” because it is a rare surname in Quebec, but above all because it symbolically connects me to my family. I have great respect for my ancestors and the transmission of values. I'm nostalgic for certain eras, that's why I keep many memories to never forget the bygone times.

 

Memories in Green

Art

ARTISTIC STATEMENT

 

My first pregnancy was the trigger for an artistic approach that respects the environment. Cartesian lines give way to curves and movements. Motherhood upsets me and brings me closer to my priorities. I then take a close interest in the composition of the products with which we are confronted daily and I personally limit their use.

I already wanted my son to have a “zero waste” future, so I started to transform everything little by little. I dreamed of creating “beauty” with second-hand products, too often abandoned.

The famous quote "Nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is transformed" by the French chemist Antoine Laurent de Lavoisier has become my mantra, the red thread of my approach.

My works created from bones, wood, seeds, mushrooms, fish skins and more broadly recycled materials are only the artistic transcription of my way of life and my deep values. My universe is tinged with a strong ecological footprint that I already fully assumed at the time and which allows me today to be recognized and appreciated by my peers and many collectors.

 

My university career greatly influenced my artistic work and the vision I had of matter and volume.

My sources of inspiration are endless and guided by the richness of nature. But it's true that two creators also inspire me a lot and nourish my creativity. They are Polly Morgan and Marc Séguin.

 

The first artist, British, is a taxidermist. It is thanks to his singular universe that I developed my attraction for working with bones and that I learned to accept the idea of death as a natural stage of existence.

 

Marc Séguin is Canadian. A world-renowned painter, I am drawn to his socially engaged works - paintings, books, films - and his fascinating relationship to the notion of freedom.

 

 

ARTISTIC TRAININGS/ ASSOCIATIONS

  • 2019 | Member of Helsinki International Artist Association, Helsinki, Finland

  • 2011 to 2016 | Board member  Cooperative Radar (artists and cultural workers), Montreal, Canada

  • 2003 | Montreal School of Jewelry, Level 2 Certificate, Montreal, Canada

  • 2003 | Private lessons, glass fusion specialty, Gérald Collard workshop, Montreal, Canada

 

EXHIBITIONS  

  • 2020 | AVA Galleria, solo exhibition, Helsinki, Finland

  • 2019 | Tatinis Art Show, collective exhibition, Helsinki, Finland

  • 2014 | Cultural and Community House of Montreal North, solo exhibition, Montreal, Canada

  • 2012 | Quoi de N'Oeuf, solo exhibition, Montreal, Canada

  • 2011-2012 | Ka-Life-Art Gallery,  collective exhibition, Montreal Canada

  • 2011 | Crystal prison, Apollo Agency, solo exhibition, Montreal, Canada

  • 2010 | Modern urban art, loft Desjardins, solo exhibition, Montreal, Canada

  • 2009 | Aikawa Gallery, solo exhibition, Montreal, Canada

  • 2009 | Piccolo Diavolo, solo exhibition, Montreal, Canada

  • 2009 | Expo Solo, Van Horne space, solo exhibition, Montreal, Canada

CHARITY EVENTS

  • 2014 | School project, Vincent-Massé School, Secondary Group III, Montreal,  Canada

  • 2013 | Joe Omobono and Julien-Ferrari Fund, Longueuil, Canada

  • 2012 | The Pink Charity, Montreal, Canada

  • 2012 | Artsida4 Museum of Contemporary Art, Montreal, Canada

  • 2012 | Media launch of Artsida4, Dental Gallery, Montreal, Canada

  • 2010 | Come What May, Farha Foundation, Montreal, Canada

  • 2009 | The Healthy Web, Complexe Desjardins, Montreal, Canada ​​​​​​​

Edited Image 2015-10-8-14:26:12

Photographer: Jessica Desjardins

Production , photography and editing: Isabelle Courville

L'ARTISTE

 

Origine du Nord du Québec, je suis née en 1984. J’ai grandi entourée des grands bois canadiens et d’une faune sauvage et majestueuse. Depuis ma plus tendre enfance, la nature est omniprésente dans ma vie. Elle est devenue, au fil du temps, un élément indispensable à mon bien-être et à mon équilibre.

Lors de mes études secondaires, j’ai choisi de suivre l’option « Arts Plastiques ». Adolescente, je reste profondément marquée par cette première rencontre avec l’art. A 15 ans seulement, mon professeure nous enseigne assidument le dessin et nous pousse à dépasser les limites de notre propre créativité. Véritable coup de cœur pour la discipline, le dessin s’installe naturellement dans mon quotidien. Il devient mon échappatoire face à une société dans laquelle je ne me reconnais pas. Mon imagination sans limite me permet de m’évader dans des mondes fictifs -souvent faits de noir et de blanc- et de donner vie à des personnages tolérants, que je ne retrouve nulle part ailleurs. Je dessine donc pour le plaisir et pour me distraire sans penser encore à ce moment précis que je pourrai en faire ma profession.

Malgré tout, j’ai toujours été attirée par les métiers liés à la création et à l’artisanat d’art. Je me dirige donc spontanément vers des filières artistiques.

En 2003, je pars suivre des cours de joaillerie à l’Ecole de Joaillerie de Montréal et je me forme en parallèle au verre soufflé. Trois ans plus tard, j’entreprends des études de Psychologie à l’Université. A cette époque, je mets l’Humain au centre de mes préoccupations et je tente de comprendre ce qui se joue en chacun de nous.

 

En 2008, un accident au Mexique m’oblige à tout arrêter. Je me retrouve contrainte de ralentir le rythme et de prendre soin de ma santé pendant quatre mois. Je reprends, non sans hasard, le chemin qui m’est destinée : l’art. Pour la première fois, la peinture vient à moi et prend une place de plus en plus significative.

Encouragée et soutenue par mes parents et mes proches, je fais le choix de prendre un nouveau virage et de devenir officiellement artiste. Tout se bouscule dans ma tête. Une seconde vie s’offre à moi et tout est à construire. Pourtant, j’ai très vite su donner un sens profond à ma pratique.

Je choisis de me faire appeler « MDauteuil » parce que c’est un patronyme rare au Québec mais surtout parce qu’il me relie symboliquement à ma famille. Je voue un grand respect à mes aïeuls et à la transmission des valeurs. Je suis nostalgique de certaines époques, voilà pourquoi je garde de nombreux souvenirs pour ne jamais oublier les temps révolus.

 

Memories in Green

Art

DÉMARCHE ARTISTIQUE

 

Ma première grossesse a été l’élément déclencheur d’une démarche artistique respectueuse de l’environnement. Les lignes cartésiennes laissent place aux courbes et aux mouvements. La maternité me bouleverse et me rapproche de mes priorités. Je m’intéresse alors de près à la composition des produits auxquels nous sommes quotidiennement confrontés et je limite personnellement leur utilisation.

Je souhaitais déjà pour mon fils un avenir « zéro déchet » et j’ai donc commencé petit à petit à tout transformer. Je rêvais de faire du « beau » avec des produits de seconde main, trop souvent laissés à l’abandon.

La célèbre citation « Rien ne se perd, rien ne se crée, tout se transforme » du chimiste français Antoine Laurent de Lavoisier est devenue mon mantra, le fil rouge de ma démarche.

Mes œuvres créées à partir d’ossements, de bois, de graines, de champignons, de peaux de poissons et plus largement de matériaux de récupération ne sont que la retranscription artistique de mon mode de vie et de mes valeurs profondes. Mon univers se teinte d’une empreinte écologique forte que j’assume déjà pleinement à l’époque et qui me permet aujourd’hui d’être reconnue et appréciée de mes pairs et de nombreux collectionneurs.

 

Mon parcours universitaire a grandement influencé mon travail artistique et la vision que j’avais de la matière et du volume.

Mes sources d’inspiration sont infinies et guidées par la richesse de la nature. Mais il est vrai que deux créateurs m’inspirent aussi beaucoup et nourrissent ma créativité. Il s’agit de Polly Morgan et Marc Séguin.

 

La première artiste, Britannique, est taxidermiste. C’est grâce à son univers singulier que j’ai développé mon attrait pour le travail des ossements et que j’ai appris a accepté l’idée de la mort comme une étape naturelle de l’existence.

 

Marc Séguin, lui, est Canadien. Peintre de renommée mondiale, je suis attirée par ses œuvres -peintures, livres, films- engagées et son rapport fascinant à la notion de liberté.

 

 

FORMATIONS ARTISTIQUES/ ASSOCIATIONS

  • 2019 | Membre d'Helsinki International Artist Association, Helsinki, Finlande

  • 2011 à 2016 | Membre du C.A.  Coopérative Radar (artistes et travailleurs culturels), Montréal, Canada

  • 2003 | École de Joaillerie de Montréal, Attestation niveau 2, Montréal, Canada

  • 2003 | Cours privés, spécialité fusion du verre, atelier Gérald Collard, Montréal, Canada

 

EXPOSITIONS 

  • 2020 | AVA Galleria, exposition solo, Helsinki, Finlande

  • 2019 | Tatinis Art Show, exposition collective, Helsinki, Finlande

  • 2014 | Maison culturelle et communautaire de Montréal Nord, exposition solo, Montréal, Canada

  • 2012 | Quoi de N’Oeuf, exposition solo, Montréal, Canada

  • 2011-2012 | Galerie Ka-Vie-Art,  exposition collective, Montréal Canada

  • 2011 | Prison de crystal, Agence Apollo, exposition solo, Montréal, Canada

  • 2010 | Art moderne urbain, loft Desjardins, exposition solo, Montréal, Canada

  • 2009 | Galerie Aikawa, exposition solo, Montréal, Canada

  • 2009 | Piccolo Diavolo, exposition solo, Montréal, Canada

  • 2009 | Expo Solo, espace Van Horne, exposition solo, Montréal, Canada

ÉVÉNEMENTS CARITATIFS

  • 2014 | Projet scolaire , École Vincent-Massé, Groupe secondaire III, Montréal, Canada

  • 2013 | Fonds Joe Omobono et Julien-Ferrari, Longueuil, Canada

  • 2012 | The Pink Charity, Montréal, Canada

  • 2012 | Artsida4 Musée d’art contemporain, Montréal, Canada

  • 2012 | Lancement médiatique d’Artsida4, Galerie dentaire, Montréal, Canada

  • 2010 | Come What May, Fondation Farha, Montréal, Canada

  • 2009 | La toile en santé, Complexe Desjardins, Montréal, Canada

Edited Image 2015-10-8-14:26:12

Photographe: Jessica Desjardins

Réalisation, direction photo et montage: Isabelle Courville